Distance Learning

Sierra Sands/Richmond Elementary Distance Learning 

Information and Resources


Welcome to the Distance Learning information and resources page developed to provide Sierra Sands parents and students with support during school closures.  We recognize that this is a challenging time for us all and we want to strengthen our partnership with you to ensure our students’ success. This page will be updated regularly to provide the latest information available.


What is the Sierra Sands TK-12 Distance Learning model?

Teachers will provide high quality educational opportunities to students through the Google platform.  Please see more detailed information below on logging into the Google Classroom.


TK-8th Grade Instructional Packets/March 23-April 3:  10 Day Instructional packets were initially provided to TK-8th grade.  Packets can be accessed at 10 Day Instructional Packets/March 23-April 3.


Out of an abundance of caution and to ensure the safety of both families and staff, we will not require the physical collection of the 10 day instructional packets.  Teachers/school sites will assign either credit or no credit to students. Students who have not yet completed packets will have until the last day of the school year to verify completion and receive credit.  Students/parents may demonstrate completion in one of two ways: 1) sending an email to the TK-5th grade teacher or 6th-8th grade advisory teacher stating that the packet has been completed or 2) uploading/taking a picture of the signed assignment tracker and emailing it to the teacher/submitting through Google Classroom.


What is the expectation for student learning?  

Just as we welcome students onto our campuses and into our classrooms, we welcome them into the “virtual classrooms” through Google Classroom.  Just as students are expected to enter through the physical door of a classroom, students and families should “enter” their classrooms through the Google platform and sign in.  All Sierra Sands students should continue to engage in learning during school closures. 


Technology/Internet Support


What if I need a learning device/Chromebook?

Contact your site administrator, Michael Yancey (myancey@ssusd.org) to request a Chromebook.  It is best to communicate with site principals by email during school closures.

The device distribution protocol as of April 3, 2020 is as follows:

High School/Middle School students: 1 device per student as the learning expectations will require extended screen time.

Elementary students: 1 device per two students in a family as the learning expectations will require appropriate screen time based on the age and development of the students.


What if I need internet?

Contact your site administrator, Michael Yancey (myancey@ssusd.org) to request internet support. It is best to communicate with site principals by email during school closures.


What if I need help with my device or need technological support?

Email techsupport@ssusd.org with questions about technology or devices. 


Google Platform/Classroom


What is Google Classroom?

Google worked with educators across the country to create Classroom: a streamlined, easy-to-use tool that helps teachers manage coursework. With Classroom, educators can create classes, distribute assignments, grade and send feedback, and see everything in one place.With Classroom, teachers and students can sign in from any computer or mobile device to access class assignments, course materials, and feedback.


See “The Parents’ Guide to Google Classroom” for more detailed information: Parents' Guide to Google Classroom


How does my student login to Google Classroom?


 

What if I have a question about an assignment?

Contact your student’s teacher through email. Please see the teacher contact list below.

 

Parent Resources


2020 Parents’ Guide to Google Classroom?  Parents' Guide to Google Classroom


Tips for Parents Navigating Online Learning (summarized from Ladders-Fast on Your Feet):


1. Make space for learning.  Choose the quietest space in your home during learning time.


2. Make time/schedule for learning.  Routines are very important for students, especially in times of stress.  Try to maintain a consistent learning schedule that works best for your family’s needs.  


3. Take a break.  Allow time in between learning for snacks or “recess”.  


4. Support your student.  Students will need support to be successful during Distance Learning.  It is okay to ask questions and to have questions. Please reach out for support through emailing your student’s teacher or principal. We are in this together!



Richmond Contact Information

Teacher Name

Grade Level

Email

Albrecht, Brianne

Projects Teacher

balbrecht@ssusd.org

Arp Jr., Rodney

SDC

rarp@ssusd.org

Browne, Sherry-Kay

Kindergarten

skbrowne@ssusd.org

Courtemanche, Erin

1st Grade

ecourtemanche@ssusd.org

Doyle, Aurora

2/3 Combo

adoyle@ssusd.org

Field, Felicia

2nd Grade

ffield@ssusd.org

Freund, Stefanie

SDC

sfreund@ssusd.org

Hara, Gary

Counselor

ghara@ssusd.org

Hillewaert, Tia

5th Grade

thillewaert@ssusd.org

Jeske, Kelly

RSP

kjeske@ssusd.org

Keehan, Brandy

4th Grade

bkeehan@ssusd.org

Kyte, Arwen

5th Grade

akyte@ssusd.org

Lee, Roberta

SDC

rlee@ssusd.org

Loudin, Diedre

SDC

dloudin@ssusd.org

McKinney, Mark

4th Grade

mmckinney@ssusd.org

Miller, Tracy

SDC

tmiller@ssusd.org

Moroz, Melissa

SDC

mmoroz@ssusd.org

Piatt, Tami

Kindergarten

tpiatt@ssusd.org

Polen, Sarah

2nd Grade

spolen@ssusd.org

Shultz, Jennifer

3rd Grade

jshultz@ssusd.org

Van Nevel, Kimberly

Kindergarten

kvannevel@ssusd.org

White, Sarah

SDC

swhite@ssusd.org

Wong, Rainbow

3rd Grade

rwong@ssusd.org

Wood, Susan

1st Grade

swood@ssusd.org


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.